Fairbanks named 2008 National Coca-Cola Scholar


Adrienne Fairbanks has made Dayton Public Schools history – and joined a very select group of her peers – upon being named a 2008 Coca-Cola Scholar, earning a $20,000 scholarship for college.

Fairbanks, a senior at the Thurgood Marshall Academic Magnet Academy, was notified last week by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation that she had won the scholarship. In April, she traveled to Atlanta, participating in interviews with a national selection committee comprised of previous Coca-Cola Scholars. The finalist pool was selected from more than 80,000 applicants; the scholars were drawn from 252 finalists.

Fairbanks, the daughter of Anthony and Janice Fairbanks, was one of the 50 chosen scholars, and one of only two selected from Ohio. She will attend either Spelman College or Alabama A&M University in the fall, majoring in biomedical engineering.

“Adrienne has always been a focused student, very determined to pursue her goals,” Thurgood Marshall Principal Phyllis Edmonds said. “From the first moment she came here, she knew she wanted to be a success.”

In addition to being class president for four years, Fairbanks is president of the Superintendent’s Student Senate and was a member of the committee that helped name Thurgood Marshall High School. She participates in the JROTC program and band and was named “best in class” her junior year in the Wright STEPP program.

Fairbanks has received scholarship awards from many other organizations, including Delta Sigma Theta, the Urban League, NAACP, Sisters in Christ, and Top Teens of America. As a participant in the latter program, she will travel to Rice University in Texas this summer for an all-expense-paid youth leadership conference.

Despite a host of extracurricular activities and awards, Fairbanks wants her fellow students to know the most important ingredient to her success: Sweat.

“The reason I received this (Coca-Cola) scholarship … was because I work hard,” she said. “I want my peers to understand they can do it, too, if they have the work ethic.”


Fairbanks named 2008 National Coca-Cola Scholar