Students win MLK Oratorical Contest




Through stories, anecdotes, fiery invocations and studious contemplation, Dayton Public Schools eighth-graders presented their original speeches during the 24th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratorical Contest, held this morning in the DPS-TV studio at Patterson Career Center.

First-place winner Scott Oliver spoke on how his heroes Barack Obama and Dr. King have encouraged him to continue to strive for a better future for himself and the next generation.

“My hope for the future is to live in a world without boundaries … My hope is that my sons and daughters will live in a clean environment, and that we will provide the world with enough food to survive,” he said.

'Oliver, who attends Kiser PK-8 School, enjoys public speaking, basketball and reading and writing. He won a $200 savings bond and a gold medal.

Second place went to Devin McDonough of Stivers, who earned a $150 savings bond and a silver medal. Dameona Hubert of Wogaman won third place, and was awarded a $100 savings bond and a bronze medal.

Other eighth-grade orators, who received a $50 savings bond courtesy of Dayton Public Schools, were: Nia Hogue, Belle Haven; Dasina Thomas, Cleveland; Brianna McCalister, EJ Brown; Shelby Trautman, Eastmont; Monet Scroggins, Edison; Shamari Kennebrew, Kemp; Felishia Morgan, Meadowdale; Akeisha Hale, Patterson-Kennedy; Hana Vrtar, Ruskin; Robert Alexander, Westwood; Angel Webster, Wilbur Wright; and Jaylen Gray, World of Wonder.
All participating students also received a backpack and pendant package, courtesy of Central State University.
Contest judges included Dr. Julius Bailey, LaTonya Branham and Brandon Hayes with Central State; Jeffrey J. Mims, Jr., president of the Dayton Board of Education; and Dr. Reva Cosby, principal of Wayne High School in Huber Heights.


Students win MLK Oratorical Contest