Positive School Climate

Positive School Climate

Basics of PSC at Dayton Public Schools

Postive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) is a framework for creating safe and orderly learning environments in schools, while improving the social-emotional outcomes for students. It is a proactive approach that relies on research-based practices, including developing clear behavioral expectations, teaching these expectations, acknowledging appropriate behavior, consistently correcting inappropriate behavior, and using behavioral data to systematically solve problems. The Dayton Public School District refers to PBIS as Positive School Climate or PSC. PSC is built on a multi-tiered system of support model that provides additional behavioral supports to students who are not responding to universal or Tier 1 interventions.

Each building in the district is assigned a Positive School Climate Coach. This coach works with a building’s staff and administration to implement the elements of PBIS with fidelity; facilitate a sustainable positive and safe environment for students to grow socially, emotionally, and academically; and provide all staff members with support opportunities in classroom management, building relationships, providing positive specific feedback for students, and more. 

Positive School Climate Team

District Coordinator

Stacy Falcone



2021-2022 District Coaches

Deanna Granrothdrgranro@daytonpublic.com

Eastmont Elementary
EJ Brown Middle School
Ruskin Elementary
Stivers School for the Arts
Thurgood Marshall High School
Detra Hesterdethester@daytonpublilc.comMeadowdale Career Technology Center
Mound Street Academy
River’s Edge Montessori
Westwood Elementary
Wright Brother’s Middle School
Monica Lamb monlamb@daytonpublic.comCharity Adams Earley Girls Academy
Cleveland Elementary
Kiser Elementary
Roosevelt Elementary
Thurgood Marshall High School
Chris Rosschrross@daytonpublic.comBelmont Middle/High School
Dunbar High School
Edison Elementary
Kemp Elementary
David H. Ponitz Career Tech
Ricky Terrellrlterrel@daytonpublic.comBelle Haven Elementary
Fairview Elementary
Horace Mann Elementary
Louise Troy Elementary
Valerie Elementary
Wogaman Middle School