Outstanding Employee Awards

Dayton Art Institute

03/19/18 05:00 PM - 09:00 PM

The district’s top achievers will gather for an employee appreciation reception at the Dayton Art Institute, at 5:00 p.m. March 19, 2018. Following the reception, a recognition program will pay tribute to the honorees at 6:00 p.m.

Among the special guests are the four individuals who will receive the honor of becoming the 2018 Dayton Public Schools Outstanding Employees of the Year.

The district’s Outstanding Employees of the Year are:

Overall Employee of the Year
Shawna Welch
Principal, Wright Brothers Middle School

Outstanding Achievement and Performance
Robin Rollins
Teacher 1st Grade, Westwood PK-6 School

Outstanding Customer Service and Personal Interaction
Shirley Garrett
School Secretary, Valerie PK-6 School

Outstanding Education Support/Initiative and Creativity
Gary Hites
Carpenter Journeyman

DPS employees were nominated by staff, families, and community members for the district’s top award, with over 30 entries received for a variety of staff positions. The nominations were then evaluated by a panel of DPS staff from across the district. All the nomination entries cited their willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty to help our students and families. We are very proud to have great talent within our DPS family.