Dayton Schools Earn State Award

November has been an award-winning month for the Dayton Public School District.
The Ohio Department of Education has selected four of the district’s PreK-6 buildings as winners of the Momentum Award.  Cleveland, Edison, Horace Mann and Kemp (for the second consecutive year) are designated as Grade “A”. This means each of these schools has been recognized for exceeding academic expectations in student growth.
The district has schools that are creating significant growth every year. Our goal is to increase the number of schools that perform at that level to make it district-wide,” said DPS Associate Superintendent, Dr. Shelia Burton.
The Grade “A” represents the efforts made by students who attend the four awarded schools by adding value in reading and math skills. “These districts and schools are doing a wonderful job providing students with the tools to succeed — and their students are rising to the challenge,” said State Board of Education President Tess Elshoff. “The State Board of Education is proud to recognize these students, teachers, administrators and parents for their accomplishments.”
Dayton is one of  Ohio’s 64 public school districts and our four buildings are part of the state’s 214 schools that received the Momentum Award for exceeding expectations in student academic growth for 2016-2017.
Wednesday, November 29th, banners that acknowledge the award-winning selections were placed on each school building by DPS operations crews.