Top Employees Honored at Special Event

The district’s top achievers will gather for an employee appreciation reception at the Dayton Art Institute, at 5:00 p.m. March 19, 2018. Following the reception, a recognition program will pay tribute to the honorees at 6:00 p.m.

Among the special guests are the four individuals who will receive the honor of becoming the 2018 Dayton Public Schools Outstanding Employees of the Year.

The district’s Outstanding Employees of the Year are:

Overall Employee of the Year
Shawna Welch
Principal, Wright Brothers Middle School

Outstanding Achievement and Performance
Robin Rollins
Teacher 1st Grade, Westwood PK-6 School

Outstanding Customer Service and Personal Interaction
Shirley Garrett
School Secretary, Valerie PK-6 School

Outstanding Education Support/Initiative and Creativity
Gary Hites
Carpenter Journeyman

DPS employees were nominated by staff, families, and community members for the district’s top award, with over 30 entries received for a variety of staff positions. The nominations were then evaluated by a panel of DPS staff from across the district. All the nomination entries cited their willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty to help our students and families. We are very proud to have great talent within our DPS family.

Nominees for Outstanding Employee of the Year
Julie Allen - 4th Grade Teacher, Westwood
Zachary Baird - Painter Journeyman
Brandi Barwick-Rankin - Teacher Leader, Dayton Boys Prep
Serita Brake - Teaching & Learning Coordinator
Timothy Buxton - HVAC Mechanic
Anita Craighead - Title I ECE Resource Teacher
Patricia Cramer - Paraprofessional, River's Edge Montessori
Kimberly Dubbs - 8th Grade Science Teacher, Edwin Joel Brown
Janeen Early - Paraprofessional, Eastmont
Nancy Edmondson - Custodian, Administration
De'Juan Edwards - Plumber Journeyman
Philon Franklin - Paraprofessional, Eastmont
Rhonda George - Title I Reading Teacher, Rosa Parks
Robert Hankey Sr. - Psychologist
Lynda Hawkins - Intervention Specialist, Louise Troy
Anthony Head - Culinary Arts Teacher,  Ponitz CTC
Sean Henry - Assistant Principal, Edwin Joel Brown
Celeste Hoerner - Principal, Eastmont
Laurita Jones - School Clerk, Rosa Parks
Karen Lombard  - Director of Early Childhood Education
Tahwanna Manier - Security Resource Officer, Cleveland
Tasha Northcutt - School Clerk, Kemp
Lori Peters - School Secretary, Horace Mann
Michelle Pund - 2nd Grade Teacher, Eastmont
Richard Rayford III - Executive Director of Operations
Michelle Roby - Teacher Leader, Westwood
Kelly Russel - Intervention Specialist, Dunbar
Rebecca Shrout - Student Information Specialist, Dunbar
Elizabeth Swartz - Paraprofessional, Rosa Parks
Richard Terrell - Positive School Climate Teacher, Horace Mann
Peter Vlasic - Carpenter Journeyman
Nancy Vogel - Intervention Specialist, World of Wonder
Erica Wilson - 1st Grade Teacher, Edison
Samantha Wright-Norman - Attendance and Records Clerk, Belmont