# OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION, DAYTON CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

MEMBERS OFFICERS

Yvonne Isaacs Joseph Lacey

President

Joseph Lacey

Rev. Dr. Robert Walker

Ronald Lee Vice President

Nancy Nerny Lori Ward

Superintendent of

Rev. Dr. Robert Walker Schools

Sheila Taylor Craig A. Jones

Treasurer / Chief Financial Officer

Stacy Thompson

Student Senate Representative: Louisa Okwudibonye

November 23, 2013 Board Retreat Page 381

These Minutes approved <u>January 21, 2014</u>, Dayton, Ohio These Minutes published January 27, 2014, Dayton, Ohio

381

### Board of Education, Dayton City School District Dayton Montgomery County, Ohio November 23, 2013 – Board Retreat

The Board of Education of the Dayton City School District convened its regularly scheduled Board Retreat on Saturday, November 23, 2013 at 9:09 a.m. in the Board Room, 115 S. Ludlow Street, Dayton, Montgomery County, Ohio, with President Lacey in the Chair.

#### ROLL CALL

MEMBERS ANSWERING ROLL CALL: Isaacs, Lacey, Lee, Nerny, Taylor, Thompson departed at 11:4 a.m.,

Walker - 7

{SSR – Okwudibonye} – ABSENT

MEMBERS ABSENT: None – 0

# <u>PLEDGE</u>

Pledge of allegiance to the flag.

# **UPDATE ON HB 237 (COMMON CORE)**

President Lacey and Superintendent Ward addressed the board.

#### SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Superintendent Ward addressed the board and departed at 12:33 p.m. New board members Adil Baguirov and Hazel Rountree attended this meeting.

### DISCUSSION REGARDING PRESIDENT & VICE PRESIDENT POSITIONS ON BOARD

Joe Lacey not interested in either position, support for Dr. Walker as President, Ms. Nerny as Vice President. Mr. Lee expressed interest in both offices.

### STRATEGIC PLANNING

Kathy Hollingsworth joined the meeting at 12:40 p.m. and addressed the board.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, it was moved by Mr. Walker and seconded by Ms. Nerny to adjourn.

AYES: Isaacs, Lacey, Lee, Nerny, Taylor, Walker – 6

NAYS: None -0

#### Motion Carried. Meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

# ATTEST: Craig A. Jones, Treasurer / Chief Financial Officer Joseph Lacey, President