# OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION, DAYTON CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

MEMBERS OFFICERS

Dr. Adil Baguirov Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker

President

Joseph Lacey

Nancy A. Nerny
Ronald C. Lee

Vice President

Allison Mayfield-Brown Lori L. Ward

Superintendent of Schools

Nancy A. Nerny

Craig A. Jones

Dr. Hazel Rountree Treasurer / Chief Financial Officer

Sheila Taylor

Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker

Student Senate Representative: Allison Mayfield-Brown

November 6, 2014 Special Meeting

These Minutes approved January 20, 2015 Dayton, Ohio These Minutes published February 4, 2015 Dayton, Ohio

## Board of Education, Dayton City School District Dayton Montgomery County, Ohio November 6, 2014– Special Meeting

The Board of Education of the Dayton City School District convened in a Special Meeting on Thursday, November 6, 2014 at 05:30 p.m. in the 115 S. Ludlow Street, 6th Floor, Room 116, Dayton, Montgomery County, Ohio with President Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker in the Chair.

November 4, 2014

**SPECIAL MEETING** 



In accordance with Section 3313.16 of the Ohio Revised Code and File: BD of the Handbook of Policies, Rules & Regulations of the Board, I hereby call for a special meeting of the Board of Education of the Dayton City School District, Montgomery County, Ohio, to be held on **Thursday, November 6, 2014** at 5:30 p.m. in Room 4S-415 at the Administration Building located at 115 S. Ludlow St., Dayton, Ohio.

Immediately upon convening, the Board will go into Executive Session, after which they will hear presentations from the superintendent. In addition, the board may choose to consider recommendations from the superintendent and/or treasurer for approval at this meeting.

This meeting is in compliance with Section 121.22 (G) <5> and 121.22 (G) <1> of the Ohio Revised Code.

The media is being advised of this meeting in compliance with the Ohio Sunshine Law.

#### **ROLL CALL**

MEMBERS ANSWERING ROLL CALL: Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker, Dr. Adil Baguirov, Ronald C. Lee, Nancy A. Nerny, Sheila Taylor - 5

MEMBERS ABSENT:

{SSR - Allison Mayfield-Brown} - Absent

## ARRIVAL AFTER ROLL CALL

MEMBERS ARRIVING AFTER ROLL CALL: Joseph Lacey arrived at 5:44 p.m. and departed at 8:30 p.m. Dr. Hazel Rountree arrived at 6:55 p.m. - 2

## **PLEDGE**

Pledge of allegiance to the flag

## APPOINTMENT TO PUBLIC RECORDS TRAINING

It was moved by Ronald C. Lee and seconded by Nancy A. Nerny to appoint Shelia Taylor as Public Records Training Designee.

AYES: Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker, Dr. Adil Baguirov, Joseph Lacey, Ronald C. Lee, Nancy A. Nerny, Sheila Taylor - 6

NAYS: -0

# Board of Education, Dayton City School District Dayton Montgomery County, Ohio November 6, 2014– Special Meeting

ABSTENTIONS: - 0 Motion Carried

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Pursuant to Section 121.22 (G) <2> of the Ohio Revised Code, I move that this board go into Executive Session. This meeting is being held to consider the preparation for, conducting, or reviewing negotiations with employees regarding their compensation or other terms and conditions of their employment.

It was moved by Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker and seconded by Joseph Lacey to go into executive session.

AYES: Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker, Dr. Adil Baguirov, Joseph Lacey, Ronald C. Lee, Nancy A. Nerny, Sheila Taylor - 6

NAYS: - 0

ABSTENTIONS: - 0

Let the record show that the Board of Education of the Dayton City School District has just completed an Executive Session during which it considered the preparation for negotiations or bargaining sessions with a public employee concerning their compensation or other terms and conditions of their employment.

## **Motion Carried.**

## SPECIAL PRESENTATION

Lisa Lewis, Executive Director Human Resources addressed the board.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, it was moved by Dr. Hazel Rountree and seconded by Ronald C. Lee to adjourn.

AYES: Rev. Dr. Robert C. Walker, Dr. Adil Baguirov, Ronald C. Lee, Nancy A. Nerny, Dr. Hazel Rountree, Sheila Taylor - 6

NAYS: - 0

ABSTENTIONS: - 0

#### **Motion Carried.**

ATTEST:	
Craig A. Jones, Treasurer / Chief Financial Officer	Robert Walker, President