DPS Athletic Hall of Fame

Dayton Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame

The Dayton Public School District is proud to announce the creation of an Athletic Hall of Fame.

With a rich athletics history spanning more than 120 years, the district’s Athletic Hall of Fame will honor those who have made remarkable contributions to the district through athletics. Many former DPS athletes have gone on to achieve success at the collegiate and professional levels, and have made significant contributions to the district and community. Establishing a Hall of Fame will allow the district to preserve the rich legacy of past and present athletes, and inspire future generations.

Submit Your Nomination

Community members are invited to nominate former athletes, coaches, or teams for the first class of inductees. Be on the lookout for the 2024 nomination form!

  • Athletes must be out of high school for a minimum of 10 years.
  • Coaches must have at least 5 years of Varsity coaching experience. Only coaching experience within Dayton Public Schools will be considered.
  • Consideration will also be given to the character shown by the nominee in and out of their time at DPS.

After the nomination window closes, a selection committee will review all nominees and finalize the first class of inductees. Special honors may also be awarded based on an individual’s contributions to the schools and community.

History of the DPS Athletic Hall of Fame

In December of 2021, the Dayton Board of Education passed a resolution to create a Dayton Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame. In 2022, the process of creating the Hall of Fame began. 

Multiple surveys were conducted to gather ideas and input from community members. A steering committee was convened and included former athletes, coaches, media, community members, and district administrators. Several meetings were held to share ideas, share research, and provide feedback. At the conclusion of the meetings, a framework was created for the selection criteria and process for future inductees.

The Dayton Public Schools Athletic Hall of Fame will induct former athletes, coaches, and teams. There will also be special honors based on an individual’s contributions to the schools and community.

History of Welcome Stadium

Originally built in 1949, Welcome Stadium is currently owned and operated by the Dayton Public School District but serves as the home site for many athletic teams — including the University of Dayton Flyers Football Team.

Welcome Stadium can seat nearly 11,000 fans and has been a hub for many notable athletes over time, such as Keith Byars, Dan Wilkinson, and Edwin C. Moses, to name a few.

For years, Welcome Stadium has provided athletes with opportunities to excel in track and field events.

Welcome Stadium did not undergo any major renovations until 2022. The completed facility will boast improved accessibility, upgraded mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems, a new press box, new turf field and running track, upgraded restrooms and locker rooms, a Hall of Fame, and many other modifications.

Support the project by donating today!