Safety and Security

OFFICE OF SAFETY AND SECURITY

LOCATING US

5 S. Ludlow St., Dayton OH 45402
Tel. (937) 542-7000 | Fax (937) 542-7010

NameTitleContact
Richard E. Wright IIChief of Safety and Security, Truancy and Hearingsrewright@daytonpublic.com
Debora WotringExecutive Secretarydwotring@daytonpublic.com
Karen GildowLevel IV Secretarykgildow@daytonpublic.com
James Crutcher, A.L.I.C.E. Certified InstructorSchool Safety Police Court Liaisonjhcrutch@daytonpublic.com
Tracy V. Hines, A.L.I.C.E. Certified Instructor School Safety Police Court Liaisontvhines@daytonpublic.com
Chiquith Smith, A.L.I.C.E. Certified InstructorSchool Safety Police Court Liaisonchasmith@daytonpublic.com
John Wortham IVA.L.I.C.E. Certified Instructorjwortham@daytonpublic.com
Jobie Milton, A.L.I.C.E. Certified Instructor Security Facilities Monitorsjmilton@daytonpublic.com
Matthew Cooper, A.L.I.C.E. Certified Instructor Security Facilities Monitormcooper@daytonpublic.com
Charlette Saddler, A.L.I.C.E. Certified Instructor Security Facilities Monitorclsaddle@daytonpublic.com

Important Message Regarding School SafetyStraight Talk with Superintendent Lolli – Episode 2: Safety and Security

The Mission of the Office of Safety & Security is to provide a safe environment for teaching and learning through professionalism, compassion, and empathy.

The Objective of The Office of Safety & Security is to ensure the needs of the students, staff, and stakeholders are met with a welcoming presence, conducting ourselves as positive role models.

Motto: “Get Good At Something Worth Getting Good At”
Departmental Satisfaction Survey (Under Construction)

BACKGROUND CHECKS

Dayton Public Schools requires all district employees and some volunteers to complete an Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and/or Investigation and FBI background check. We will also require record checks for those non-employee volunteers who will potentially be alone with students.

WHO:

All district employees, volunteers, contractors and others who will potentially be alone with students. If you have questions as to which employees must be background checked, please contact Safety and Security.

WHERE:

Office of Safety & Security
115 S. Ludlow St. (Free parking behind building)
937-542-7000

WHEN:

Monday through Friday
10 a.m to 4 p.m.

COST:

The Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification background check is $22, and the FBI background check is $25.25. The cost for both is $47.25.

The only form of payment accepted is payroll deduction or money order, made payable to Dayton Public Schools. Cash is no longer accepted.

If you have any questions, please call the Office of Safety & Security at 937-542-7000.

ID BADGES

All DPS employees receive a picture identification badge upon employment (see times below to have a picture taken for badge). Replacement badges are $10 each, payable by cash only.

WHEN:

Monday through Friday
10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

WHERE:

Office of Safety & Security
115 S. Ludlow St. (Free parking behind building)
937-542-7000