Office for Exceptional Children (OEC)


136 S. Ludlow St., Dayton OH 45402
Tel. (937) 542-3353  |  Fax (937) 542-3456

View informational brochure

Interim Chief of OEC

  • Tonya Ray, 937-542-3454

Executive Director

  • TBA, 937-542-3401

Administrative Specialist

  • Carla McCluskey, 937-542-3583

Academic Coordinators, OEC

  • Catherine Valentour, Sr. Academic Coordinator, 937-542-5293
  • Christina Martindale, 937-542-3420
  • Crystal Baughn, 937-542-3292
  • Tina Daniel, 937-542-3440
  • Michelle Dinsmore, 937-542-3385
  • Kristen Edwards, 937-542-3438
  • Sarah Lantz-Ramsay, 937-542-3431
  • Bridgett Pritchard, 937-542-3474

    Placement Specialist

    • Sherida Wynn, 937-542-3464

    If you are in need of Special Education documents, contact:

    If you are another public school district and need to invite a representative from Dayton to a meeting, contact:

    About Us

    The district currently serves 2,099 students (approximately 17% of the total student population) through an Individualized Education Plan with specially designed services.

    If you know a child between the ages of 0-22 who you suspect has a disability, and that child lives within the Dayton Public Schools area, please contact the Office for Exceptional Children at (937) 542-3353.

    Requesting an Evaluation:

    Parents are able to request an evaluation of their child. The district asks that parents put this request in writing and submit it to the administrator in their child’s school, or contact the Office for Exceptional Children at (937) 542-3353.

    Dayton Public Schools has the best special education services in the area! We offer ...

    • Large motor, physical, occupational, speech, mental health, vision, orientation, hearing, and music therapies.
    • Two programs with services to children with varying degrees of hearing and language impairments.
    • Vision services that are not readily offered in most school districts and charter schools.

    "To equip our students to achieve success in a global society by implementing an effective and rigorous curriculum with fidelity."


    A Guide to Parent Rights in Special EducationThe Basics of an Evaluation Team ReportState Support Team: Appropriate Evaluation