MCESC Franklin B Walter Awards

7 Seniors Awarded Franklin B. Walter Scholarships

Alexandra KincaidBelmont High School News, Dunbar Early College High School News, Meadowdale High School News, Mound Street Academy News, News, Ponitz Career Technology Center News, Stivers News, Thurgood Marshall News

One graduating senior from each DPS high school received a $1,000 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship provided by the Montgomery County Educational Service Center (MCESC).

Nomination criteria included student awards, activities, GPA and attendance. Students were also asked to write an essay about a teacher that has positively impacted their lives. Those teachers will receive $500 to spend on classroom materials.

The awards ceremony to honor this year’s recipients was held virtually this week.

View our Facebook album

DPS scholarship recipients and teachers of influence & speeches:

Belmont High School
Bousseyna Ousman
Teacher of influence: Mr. Ridgeway

Dunbar Early College High School
James Myles Lacking
Teacher of influence: Mr. Lacking, Sr.

Meadowdale High School
Nariah Johnson
Teacher of influence: Ms. Cummins

Mound Street Academy
Jurgen Harvey
Teacher of influence: Ms. Taylor

David H. Ponitz CTC
Ilkhan Lutfiyev
Teacher of influence: Mr. Kaiser

Stivers School for the Arts
Peter Rhynard
Teacher of influence: Ms. Daniels

Thurgood Marshall STEM High School
Michole Ivery
Teacher of influence: Mr. Richards

< Prev PostBack to NewsNext Post >

Share this Post