dayton public schools fallback image

Dayton Public Schools Nurse named Ohio’s School Nurse of the Year

Alexandra KincaidNews, Wright Brothers Elementary News

Dawn Abbott.Dawn Abbott, the school nurse at Wright Brothers Middle School, has been named Ohio’s School Nurse of the Year by the Ohio Association of School Nurses (OASN).

Abbott has been the Wright Brothers nurse for the past two years, but has been with the district since 2014. She also has experience as the Director of Health Services and as a state school nurse consultant.

“I am honored to be selected as Ohio’s School Nurse of the Year,” said Abbott. “I am also thankful for the privilege of serving alongside other DPS school nurses as we care for the health needs of not only students, but the entire DPS school community.”

Abbott has been an ODE Licensed School Nurse for 24 years and an RN for 42 years. During her career, she has worked as an ICU Nurse, an Adjunct Nursing Instructor, and has held multiple positions with the OASN, along with many other positions.

Abbott said she feels blessed to work with twenty-five highly qualified ODE licensed school nurses at Dayton Public Schools, and to have a supportive Superintendent, Board of Education, and Director of Health Services. This support has ensured that each school building has an ODE Licensed School Nurse, which has been invaluable throughout the pandemic.

“Having a qualified nurse at each building makes a big difference in the lives of students,” said Dr. Elizabeth Lolli, Superintendent of the Dayton Public Schools. “We are very proud of the level of care that our school nurses provide each and every day. We are also proud to once again have a DPS nurse recognized for being among the best in the state.”

In previous years, other DPS nurses have received the Ohio School Nurse of the Year Award, including Diane Miller in 2020 and Betty Holton in 1997.

Abbott will be recognized on Friday, April 1st at the annual Ohio Association of School Nurses Conference for this achievement. As Ohio’s School Nurse of the Year, she will also receive the Excellence in School Nursing Award for Ohio through the National Association of School Nurses in June.

< Prev PostBack to NewsNext Post >

Share this Post