dayton public schools fallback image

Ponitz bound for nationals, Boys Prep sweeps chess tourney, Wogaman gets health grant, state science fair qualifiers, and more!


April 15, 2015
Contact: Jill Moberley, Public Information Officer
For Immediate Release


Students bound for BPA nationals


The David H. Ponitz Career Technology Center’s Broadcast News team took second place in Ohio BPA (Business Professionals of America) competition. Lucien Wright, Nadia Bush, King Jalaw Walker, and Raymond Warden (teacher Deb Pitstick) will advance to national competition in Anaheim, Calif., along with Ponitz student Fatima Holloman (teacher Amy Richardson), who placed third in Advanced Word Processing Skills.



Boys Prep students are chess champs


The Dayton Boys Preparatory Academy Chess Team competed against Emerson Academy and checkmated its way to win the first-place team trophy and first- and second-place individual trophies. The two individual winners were Tayveon Booker (first place) and Shaione Swanson (second place).  



Health, nutrition and finance part of lesson with Target grant


Wogaman teacher Rachel Blanks won a Target Field Trip, providing a culminating activity for a place-based study unit in her fifth-grade class. To prepare for a field excursion to local Olive Garden restaurant, students had to demonstrate what they learned regarding the benefits of healthy eating, how to choose a meal that encouraged physical and financial health, and observe how many itemshealthy overall restaurant menu.


ArtFest helps provide arts experiences for Ponitz students


Ponitz CTC’s Muse Machine hosted its fourth annual ArtFest, a community event that invites attendees to enjoy student art, concessions, crafts, and entertainment. Proceeds from the event are used to fund four in-school performances from local artists including Dayton Opera, Human Race, DCDC and others, and to offer affordable arts opportunities and workshops for Ponitz students.



Student projects qualify for State Science Day


Dayton Public Schools students demonstrated their scientific savvy at West District Science Day recently on the Central State University campus. Eight elementary schools and two high schools sent students to compete. Twelve students received Superior ratings, qualifying them to compete in State Science Day, May 16, at The Ohio State University. Three students received Special Awards: The Levin Porter Architects Outstanding Design Award and The Naval Research Science Awards.
Amira Webb       Charity Adams Earley                           What Color is your Flavor?
Megan Brinker    Thurgood Marshall STEM High School     Decaying Isotopes in Action
Eja Boddie          Kiser PK-8                                         Pretty Packaging
Casey Turney      Stivers                                             Hushed Highways: The Effects of Barrier Types,

                                                                             Levin Porter Architects Outstanding Design Award
Justin Barbour     David H. Ponitz CTC                          Analysis of Dugesia Tigrina Regenerative Rates
Mahogany Estes    David H. Ponitz CTC                        Investigation of pGLO as a Transformation Process

                                                                             using E. coli, Naval Research Science Award
Cortney Mitchem    David H. Ponitz CTC                       The Synthesis, Purification, and Yield of

                                                                             Acetylsalicylic Acid
Andrew Kerns and Destiny Peyton (team)    David H. Ponitz CTC        

                                                        The Extraction, Amplification, and Sequencing of DNA from Fish
Destiny Love        Valerie                                            Magical Balloon
Salvi Kambarova and Sevda Ismailova (team)    Wright Brothers        

                                                    Cool Water (Did not qualify for State but received a Special Award)
Nico Balint             Eastmont                                      Think Fast, Naval Research Science Award



< Prev PostBack to NewsNext Post >

Share this Post